Gospel of Matthew

The Sermon on the Mount

The Beatitudes I – From Poverty to Royalty

Matthew 5:1-3

Dr. S. Lewis Johnson introduces the Sermon on the Mount and its first Beatitude.

The Beatitudes II – Blessed Grief

Matthew 5:1-12

Dr. S. Lewis Johnson goes into deatail on the Beatitudes. Dr. Johnson exposits what Christ meant when he said, "blessed are those who mourn."

The Beatitudes III – Blessed Meekness

Matthew 5:5 Psalms 37:1-11

In his third message on the Beatitudes, Dr. S. Lewis Johnson discusses what Christ meant by "blessed are the meek."

The Beatitudes IV – Blessed Righteousness and Mercy

Matthew 5:6-8

Dr. S. Lewis Johnson continues his exposition of the Beatitudes.

The Beatitudes V – Peace and Persecution, Matt

Matthew 5:9-12

Dr. S. Lewis Johnson concludes his discussion of the Beatitudes.

The Similitudes: The Salt of the Earth

Matthew 5:13-16

Dr. S. Lewis Johnson expounds "the Similitudes" found in the Sermon on the Mount.

The King, the Scriptures, and the Righteousness that Saves

Matthew 5:17-20

Dr. S. Lewis Johnson presents Jesus' view of the Scriptures.

Jesus on the Sins of Our Age

Matthew 5:21-32

Dr. S. Lewis Johnson continues his exposition of the Sermon on the Mount by detailing Jesus' comments on sin and how Jewish law was interpreted against it. Dr. Johnson provides insight into how Jesus's ministry clarified the true meaning of the law.

Truths, Rights and Christian Love

Matthew 5:33-48

Dr. S. Lewis Johnson provides further insights into the nature of Jesus' Messianic kingdom, explaining how Jesus' teachings contrast with those of the Jewish leaders of his time.

Alms, Prayer and Fasting for the Glory of Men

Matthew 6:1-8 Matthew 6:16-18

Dr. S. Lewis Johnson continues to expound Jesus' new Messianic kingdom as set forth in the Sermon on the Mount. Dr. Johnson explains how Jesus began to differentiate himself from the religious culture that had developed around the Jewish law.