The House of Bondage

Exodus 1: 1-22

Dr. S. Lewis Johnson introduces his series on Israel's passage "From Egypt to Canaan." Dr. Johnson comments on the genocide, bondage and suffering that was inflicted upon the Israelites.

God Encountered and the Servant Commissioned

Exodus 3: 1-12

Dr. S. Lewis Johnson expounds the Scripture passage of Moses and the Burning Bush.

Prophet, Providence and Covenant

Exodus 2: 1-25

Dr. S. Lewis Johnson expounds the birth, adoption and fleeing of Moses. Examples of Moses as a type of the Messiah are given.

The Name of All Names

Exodus 3: 13-22

Dr. S. Lewis Johnson gives exposition on Yahweh's introduction of himself to Moses.

Moses’ Excuses and the Compulsion of Compliance

Exodus 4: 1-27

Dr. S. Lewis Johnson comments on Yahweh's preparation of Moses for his service.

Moses, Aaron and Pharaoh: the First Round

Exodus 4: 27-6: 1

Dr. S. Lewis Johnson discusses the first confrontation between Israel's deliverer and Pharaoh.

A Renewed Commission

Exodus 6: 2-9

Dr. S. Lewis Johnson expounds how God teaches Moses about his character amidst the sufferings of the Israelites.

The Second Round

Exodus 6: 10- 7: 13

Dr. S. Lewis Johnson expounds the second meeting between Moses, Aaron and Pharoah and the miracle of the serpents.

The Remaining Rounds – the Nine Plagues

Exodus 7: 14- 10:29

Dr. S. Lewis Johnson expounds the nine plagues and their explicit demonstration of God's will and control over Pharaoh Egypt and the universe.

The Tenth Plague: Grace and Judgment Announced

Exodus 11: 1-10

Dr. S. Lewis Johnson gives exposition on God's final, eminent judgment upon the Egyptians in order to release his people, Israel.

« Back


More Sermon Topics